NCKdays2024Dear Coastal Researcher!

We are happy to formally announce that the NCK Days 2024 will be held from March 13-15 in Amersfoort. The theme is "Innovative science for a resilient coast".

The venue will be at the Oude Magazijn which is on walking distance from Amersfoort Central station. We are happy to confirm that Bart van der Hurk, recently appointed as IPCC WG2 co-chair, will provide a keynote address on the latest sea level rise developments and IPCC dynamics on March 14th.

On Wednesday March 13th we offer a full day fieldtrip to the Marker Wadden with the Willem Barentsz leaving from Lelystad main harbour. There is a limited number of 75 places available for this fieldtrip, so register early (first come first served)!

Hotels and Airbnbs are available in and around Amersfoort. 

Coastal engineering changed over the last decades from shortening our coastlines and building barriers to engineering solutions with sand nourishments, rebuilding seagrass meadows and diversifying foreshores. The coastal management toolbox is getting bigger. However, is it already big and diverse enough? Are all tools sufficiently tested? Are new tools needed? Is our knowledge sufficient for applying available models?

We welcome contributions covering field work, numerical modelling, conceptualization, lab experiments, best-practices, etc. for the full coastal system with its estuaries, beaches, mangroves and coastal seas. In addition to case studies in the Netherlands, we also welcome contributions from areas outside the Netherlands. We aim to touch on the question whether our approaches are already diverse enough and whether our knowledge and future research plans contribute to making our coasts ready for upcoming climate change.

To contribute to NCK2024, you can submit your abstract here. The deadline for abstract submission is February 10, 2024. The registration is open until March 6, 2024. We look forward to your contribution!

Looking forward meeting you in Amersfoort!

The NCK Days 2024 organising committee: Khin Nawarat (IHE Delft), Natascia Pannozzo (TU Delft), Trang Duong (IHE Delft), Johan Reyns (IHE Delft), Mick van der Wegen (IHE Delft), Dano Roelvink (IHE Delft) and Niamh McKenna (IHE Delft)

  TU Delft logo transp

nioz logo transp

UT Logo 2400 Sta Black EN

Deltares logo D blauw RGB footer

RWS EN transparant

uu logoengels rgb

ihe delft logo new transparant

TNO text transparant

WUR RGB standard